djgray: (Default)
marauders4evr:

micdotcom:

NBC aired 6,755 hours of Olympics coverage this year — and just 66 hours of the Paralympics. Look at all the awesome sh*t we’re missing! They’re breaking world records and making headlines. Why it makes no sense that there isn’t more coverage:

We all know why.

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2drrpKh
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)


Female staffers adopted a meeting strategy they called “amplification”: When a woman made a key point, other women would repeat it, giving credit to its author. This forced the men in the room to recognize the contribution — and denied them the chance to claim the idea as their own.

“We just started doing it, and made a purpose of doing it. It was an everyday thing,” said one former Obama aide who requested anonymity to speak frankly. Obama noticed, she and others said, and began calling more often on women and junior aides.


-

Here’s How Obama’s Female Staffers Made Their Voices Heard (via styro)

If you’re wondering what amplification looks like it really is as simple as listening to a person’s point and then saying “Yes I really agree with (this person’s name) that (the point they made) and I think that (build on point)”

So for example,
“Yes I agree with the female staffers that amplification is an effective process and I’ve seen great results from similar techniques used by my own colleagues”

Support, Credit, Reinforce. It’s simple and effective and it really does work.

(via thebaconsandwichofregret)

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cJDKFR
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
bruceboxleitner:

WHO LET THESE GUYS GET THEIR HANDS ON A TIME MACHINE

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2dgmLA9
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
miss-mandy-m:

Marchesa Fall 2016 NYFW

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cQVaFK
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
samcaarter:

Maybe somewhere, in a different time, in a different place, in a different world, you were alive, you were with me, you loved me and we were happy [x]

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cpkOuR
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
chzcolate:

anti–princess:

hairstylesbeauty:

Essena O'Neill has decided to quit social media — and, in the process, expose how what we see isn’t always what it seems. O’Neill has deleted nearly 2,000 of her photos, what remain have new captions explaining how she really felt when taking it, what it took to get the shot and how much she was paid. In a powerful confession video, she explains why she had to do it.

i love this girl, much support to her.
but can we stop acting like its just social media? many girls feel like they need to perform sexy 24/7 and not only on the internet.

And it’s not even just big Instagram famous girls doing this, most girls on my fb friends list pose the exact same way. Gonna need to be more girls doing this than just her.

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cr9N1d
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
https://twitter.com/RodneyMute/status/778215346528485376
https://twitter.com/RodneyMute/status/778319702540029956
https://twitter.com/RodneyMute/status/778277831734427649
vox:

Ohio police chief calls on cops to stop senseless shootings: “You are making us all look bad.”

Rodney Muterspaw, a police chief in Middletown, Ohio, posted the messages on Twitter in response to the Tulsa, Oklahoma, police shooting of Terence Crutcher, a 40-year-old black man who was unarmed when an officer shot and killed him.

Muterspaw also told a local newspaper that he will use the Tulsa shooting as a training opportunity. “It could be us tomorrow,” he told the Journal-News. “You have to look at it. It’s not second-guessing anybody. It’s training for us. It’s a chance to learn from it. We are not robots. We have an opinion too. If it makes our department better and keeps our officers safer, if it makes the city better, we should speak out about it.”

“We are like any job,” he added. “It’s not necessarily bad seeds or bad apples; people just aren’t prepared when something happens and they panic. You can train all day long. You can go through scenarios all day long. But you know you are not going to get hurt in those scenarios. But when it hits the fan, people sometimes panic.”

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cq8lMm
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
tehnakki:

involuntaryadult:

The official trailer for Hidden Figures is here! 

HIDDEN FIGURES is the incredible untold story of Katherine G. Johnson (Taraji P. Henson), Dorothy Vaughan (Octavia Spencer) and Mary Jackson (Janelle Monáe)—brilliant African-American women working at NASA, who served as the brains behind one of the greatest operations in history: the launch of astronaut John Glenn into orbit, a stunning achievement that restored the nation’s confidence, turned around the Space Race, and galvanized the world. The visionary trio crossed all gender and race lines to inspire generations to dream big.

Yep. I’m crying at work.  These women are the reason I am where I am today. 

They’re the reason, that when I told my daddy in 2nd grade that I was going to be an astronaut he didn’t laugh.  He signed me up for space camp and flew with me to Atlanta and drove me to Hunstville so I could attend (sleeping on a friend of a friends couch in Birmingham til the week was over and he could pick me up).  When he heard that the next shuttle launch would be the first time a female commander was in charge, he found a way to make sure we were at the launch of STS-93.  He found a Civil Air Patrol squadron nearby and made sure that they taught me how to fly before I turned 16.  When my highschool didn’t have a computer program past the basics, he went into my school every day for a month to talk to the principal and the computer teacher set up a computer for me in the back next to is so he could teach me Java and C++ in between other classes. That when I applied to the Air Force Academy and MIT (the only two colleges I applied for) his only complaint was that MIT would cost him money, so I better pick the AirForce.  And when I picked MIT over the AirForce he found a way to pay for my tuition.

And that first spring when I got to call him and tell him I wouldn’t be coming home for the summer, I’d be working at NASA’s Johnson Space Center, training Astronauts on the equipment I’d been helping to design at MIT. Well he didn’t say much. He just said, “Good.” and “When we moving you down there?  You’re brother’s in San Antonio.  We’ll fly in there and make him drive us over.” Like it was foretold. Like he knew it was going to happen.

I have over 20 spacecraft in LEO, the astronauts handle work I’ve done on a daily basis on the ISS, and this September my first interplanetary mission is launching because the black women that came first made a place in the space industry for me. And because my father (thanks to his own struggles to find space for a black man in aerospace engineering) didn’t for a second think I wouldn’t do what I told him I was going to do when I was a baby. 

I’m gonna be a fucking wreck when I see this movie. And to think, that finally people will know what women like Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Annie Easley (fixed the Centaur energy equations and formed the basis of all modern rocketry), and Melba Roy (head of the Goddard computers for the first comm satellites) did for the American space industry.  That there’s actually gonna be acknoledgment of the place black women have held at NASA since the very beginning.

Imma be a wreck. And I can’t wait.

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2d36jj6
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
micdotcom:

sashayed:

topherchris:

Register: turbovote.orgCheck your registration: http://ift.tt/2bqClbHMore info: usa.gov/voting

Many people have written and spoken eloquently about how much this election matters, and I know it’s very preaching-to-the-choir for me to do it here. I know also that everything you can say about it, no matter how true, sounds like hyperbole. Can you believe that people, people who are black and/or Latinx and/or trans and/or gay and/or disabled and/or female and/or poor and/or in any other non-dominant position are actually, like, going to live or die depending on the outcome of this election????? It’s true! And it’s exhausting to think about! Sometimes it feels like “oh god, whatever, give Drumpf the codes, bring on the bomb, let me just be dead.” I get that. I do. But this is a very, very easy way to check whether or not you can vote so you don’t get shut out of one of the most important decisions the U.S. will ever make! Don’t just yell about it on the internet. Be about it. Otherwise we’re all in for a mandatory screening of BREXIT II: THIS TIME ITS NUCLEAR and I honestly don’t want to exaggerate but many of us will be just fatally fucked. 

And re: just letting the bombs fall. If you can’t bring yourself to care about the end of human civilization because we’re a garbage species – and again I get that! – consider this: dogs.

She doesn’t deserve to die of radiation poisoning. I might, you might, but she doesn’t. Register to vote.

it got better

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cq8ekh
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
bestof-society6:

ART PRINTS BY LOVEPAPERPLANE

More by the Artist Here

$5 OFF + FREE SHIPPING ON PHONE CASES, LAPTOP SLEEVES + ALL TECH GEAR - ENDS TONIGHT AT MIDNIGHT PT!

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cWxCK6
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
clavicle-moundshroud:

A strange sort of witch, with a kind and loving heart.

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cHJnpQ
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
ravensrandoms:

shisno:

rigormorton32:

Does anybody else remember a time, long long ago, when you could just enjoy things?

You could watch a movie and just appreciate it instead of over analyzing every single scene to make sure there’s nothing remotely offensive about it.

You could have a favorite character and just like them and appreciate how great they were written and portrayed, without being told you’re terrible because they’re a villain. Even though they’re FICTIONAL and most likely were deliberately written to be likable. (Even if they were written as an evil character, I still think you have a right to like them, but maybe that’s just me)

You could love and be a fan of the actors without having to go full on FBI agent, looking into their backgrounds to make sure they are 100% perfect and had never made a mistake ever.

You could post about said actor without some busybody little fandom cop, slithering into your inbox to tell you(all too happily) that your fave is “problematic” (god, I fucking hate that word), and you’re disgusting if you still like them.

I’m in my 30’s so I remember those good ole days and it’s kind of sad to know, that most of you will never truly know how great that was. That’s a time long since forgotten. Bummer.

Yes, I remember that.

You know what I also remember?

How one of my friends was always awkwardly quiet after the rest of his friends group laughed at a ‘no homo’ set up joke. How he never laughed along when someone used ‘gay’ to describe something. I remember telling people who didn’t laugh that “it’s a joke, what’s wrong with you?”

I also remember, almost a decade after, crying happily as he married the love of his life who happened to be a man.

I remember laughing at a racist joke in a movie with my cousins, and her one black friend, her best friend, up and leaving because of it. I remember nodding along as she said “ugh, she can never take a joke”.

I remember asking my cousin about her years later and learning they never spoke after that. Ten years of friendship lost that night.

I remember sitting in a room filled with guy friends, making sexist jokes and being told I was so cool for not being as uptight as “other girls”. I remember that slowly losing its shine, and wondering why I felt more and more uncomfortable hearing that.

And then I remember who I was back then, and how I am so glad I am no longer that person.

I remember the first time I apologized to my gay friends for the jokes I used to make. I remember the first time I didn’t try to defend how I “didn’t mean to be racist”. I remember the first time I asked a guy just what is wrong with “other girls”, and how I lost some friends that day who I realized were never really my friends.

You know what changed? I changed. Through listening and understanding and admitting my privileges and faults, I changed. Now even if I try, I can’t just enjoy something that jokes at the expense of others. I cant watch someone who is unapologetically problematic in media.

I can’t enjoy these things because I realize now that their very existence hurts. That the very existence of this type of media perpetuates behaviors and ideologies that can lead to people being abused, harassed, and murdered.

And you know what? That’s a good thing. Because the more people who refuse to ingest this type of media, the less audience it has, and the stronger the message becomes that these things - racism, homophobia, sexism, transphobia, etc. - are not things to be waved off. You’re not edgy or cool for ignoring them. You’re not “uptight” by being upset by them. These are real things with very real social impact.

The reality is, there was never a time when everyone could just enjoy things. To be able to say you had that time is to admit the privilege you had at not having to think about problematic behavior because it didn’t negatively affect your life.

I don’t remember a time where I could “just enjoy things”. What I remember is a time where I was able to enjoy something by throwing everyone who could be hurt by or suffer from it under the bus.

I remember those times in MY life. And I am so fucking grateful they are in the past.

YES. Thank you for spelling this out.

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2csWQSN
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
fripperiesandfobs:

Ann Lowe evening dress, 1958

From the National Museum of African American History and Culture

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cPO4NX
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
darkbeautymag:

“Searching for Someone Who Will Touch My Dark Soul” —
Photographer/Retoucher: Cristina Brousset
Makeup: M&M
Lighting: Hugo Brousset
Model: Abigail Hall

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2d8B7Te
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
ephemeral-elegance:

Silk Wedding Dress with Pearl and Lace Trim, ca. 1880

via Live Auctioneers

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2dg8mm5
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
fagraklett:

Chinese emperor Ai of Han, fell in love with a minor official, a man named Dong Xian, and bestowed upon him great political power and a magnificent palace. Legend has it that one day while the two men were sleeping in the same bed, the emperor was roused from his sleep by pressing business. Dong Xian had fallen asleep across the emperor’s robe, but rather than awaken his peaceful lover, the Emperor cut his robe free at the sleeve. Thus “the passion of the cut sleeve” became a euphemism for same-sex love in China. — R.G.L.

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cOwsQF
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
positivedoodles:

[drawing of a white unicorn with a green mane, tail and horn saying “You’re making great progress on your novel. I’m proud of you.” in a green speech bubble.] 

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2dbgQIh
via IFTTT
djgray: (Default)
solarpunk-afrofuturism:

The Golden Imprint by Viet Ha Tran

from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2cXOHIy
via IFTTT

Profile

djgray: (Default)
Dorothy Joan Gray

May 2017

S M T W T F S
 1 23 4 56
7891011 1213
14 151617 1819 20
21 222324 2526 27
28293031   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:44 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios